The Power of Words

I believe that the old saying, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me,” points more to the power of words than to the weakness of words. After all, the only time we use the phrase is when we are trying to prevent words from hurting us.

I believe that the old saying, “a picture is worth a thousand words,” again, does not testify against the power of words but for the power of words. How could we communicate the worth of a picture without using words?

I believe that words and language are gifts from God and one of the keys to our relationship with him. I believe that God has spoken to us in words and wants us to use words to speak to him.

I believe that one of the cruelest things in life is when someone can’t use words. Stroke victims and senior moments come to mind. Equally as cruel is when people don’t take the time to listen to what others have to say or try to silence those who don’t agree with them.

I believe one the kindest things a person can do is speak up for someone who doesn’t have a voice or who cannot be heard above the din.

I believe that without words all human progress would stop and we would quickly sink to the level of animals.

I believe the only thing that comes close to the power of words is the power of music.

When my computer freezes up and I lose the last two hours of writing I’m glad I can express my frustration with words. Even angry words are better than violence.

I believe words can make all the difference at the right time and at the right place. Without words, how could I tell my loved ones what they mean to me?

I believe that fewer words are better than lots of words.

I believe that words give meaning to life and I believe in the meaning of life.

Leave a Reply

